Delish and Nutrish: Kale chips

7 Apr

Is it just me, or is there a Kale craze going on? It seems to me that new ways to use kale are popping up all over Pinterest and recipe blogs everywhere. While I’m no recipe blogger, I do have a soft spot for yummy food. Ever since I have been trying to jump on the Paleo bandwagon (post about that soon to follow), I have been scouring the internet to find delicious and filling snacks that are both taste bud -friendly and Paleo-friendly. Which brings me back to kale.

Thanks to Pinterest, I am now obsessed with salt and vinegar kale chips! They are delish, nutrish, and all-natural 🙂

Here’s what you will need: kale greens (leaves), olive oil, red wine vinegar, sea salt, gallon-sized ziploc bag

Here’s how I make them…

Step 1: Pre-heat oven to 300. cut the kale leaves off (if they weren’t already pre-cut like mine. I cheated!) and place in a gallon-sized bag. Pour in olive oil and vinegar to taste. I used about 2 Tbsp olive oil and 1 Tbsp. vinegar). Close bag and shake it like a polaroid picture (sorry, I had to).

Step 2: Once the kale is evenly covered  in oil and vinegar, place an even layer onto a baking sheet. Cook for 15-20 minutes. The longer, the crunchier 🙂 Once they are out, sprinkle with salt and crunch away!

Before

After

I’m sorry that the ‘After’ picture looks so sparse. I may or may not have been so ravenous that I forgot to take a ‘fresh out of the oven’ picture 🙂 These “chips” are soooo good. The perfect combo of salty, bitter, and crunchy. And the plus side is that you don’t have to feel bad about devouring the whole pan by yourself!

Go try some for yourself!

One Response to “Delish and Nutrish: Kale chips”

  1. Mama E April 13, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    You inspire me! I think I’m going to have to try this recipe myself now. Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

